Bauer & Associates

Creativity and Technology Consultants

Washington State Monthly Rental Agreement

If a rental agreement contains a section or language that attempts to waive your rights defined by the renter-tenant law, this section is considered unenforceable. The rest of the lease is still valid. No rental contract can waive your rights or remedies, you must pay legal fees that are not authorized by law, compensate the landlord for the fees paid or create a pledge on the tenant`s property. Read the language of the law for a full list. Changing the rules: The owner must notify you in writing at least 30 days in advance if they wish to change a rule in one month to a month. RCW 59.18.140. The changes can only take effect on the day the rent is due. RCW 59.18.230 states that tenants cannot sign their rights under the law. The lessor cannot legally enforce the terms of the lease that violate government or local laws.

For example, the lessor is still responsible for all repairs for defective situations that are not caused by the tenant or the tenant`s clients, even if the tenant signs a tenancy agreement stating that he agrees to make all necessary repairs during the lease. The inclusion of a clause contrary to other tenant protection laws does not invalidate the entire tenancy agreement. However, clauses that conflict with state law are not applicable. In Washington, you could have two types of leases per month and a fixed lease. A month-to-month rental agreement can be oral or written. While a fixed lease must be a written agreement. Whereas traditionally the first of the month is due, the rent may be due every day of the month. The date on which the rent is due is set in your rental agreement or in an oral contract with your landlord. Sometimes homeowners agree to accept partial payments in stages during the month or weekly payments. It`s a good idea to consolidate this type of agreement in writing with your landlord.

If your lease stipulates the end of your lease, you must leave the contract at the end of the lease period. You can ask to stay longer by contacting your landlord in writing or signing a new lease. If the landlord accepts the rent for the following month after the end of the term of your original lease, you have set a monthly rent. Q: Am I still under the Tenant Act when I don`t have a written lease? Yes, yes. You must send the owner a letter indicating that you are moving. The owner must receive the letter at least 20 days before the lease period expires. RCW 59.18.200 (1)) (a). The end of the tenancy period is the day before the rent expires.

The day you send the message does not count within 20 days.

chris

About chris

  •